Priority, please…

Today(Tuesday) two internet pirates were apprehended by the Swedish police.
They are the founders of an illegal torrent website…

I don’t question that copyright infringement are illegal.
I don’t question that they should face the consequences.

I only question the priorities of the police force, not only the swedish one.
Do you really want your tax money to be spent on hunting down “victimless” criminals?

Yes, I quoted “victimless” because I don’t count large movie-/music companies because
they keep lying about the numbers… But there are people out there that do count them as victims. “ohh we’ve lost 1000 billion dollars because of internet piracy”… (not exact numbers)
But really, are they victims? I recently read an article (sorry for swedish) about this judge from Spain who is starting to entertain the idea that internet piracy might increase sales instead of diminishing them.
This has been my theory for a few years as well. Most downloaders I know use the downloads as a trial. If they like the movie/music they end up buying them. If that’s the case for the downloaders in my vicinity, then it might not be that uncommon after all?

Well let’s get back on topic.
I don’t want my tax money to be spent on chasing down zitfarms that rebel against the system.
I want my tax money to be spent on solving murders, catching robbers, preventing rapists and stopping pedophiles.

I mean, what would you want?

Alt 1,
SWAT storms a 17 yo’s apartment because he shared a few movies?

or

Alt 2,
SWAT storms the apartment where a mother and child are being held hostage by some random killer?

One response to “Priority, please…

  1. Captain Obvious called; he wants his reasoning skills back. Actually, instead of giving it back, can you share it with our politicians?

Leave a Reply

